Politics /

“Hopefully No One Dies” — MTG Speaks Out on GOP’s Precarious 1-Seat House Majority in 2024

  |   By Lou Dobbs Staff

Rep. Mike Johnson (R-LA) led the House Republican Caucus in prayer after he was elected as their candidate for US House Speaker.

The Republican Party is poised to hold a precarious one-seat majority in the House of Representatives for the 2024 session.

As of now, there are several House Republicans who have announced that they will not be seeking re-election in 2024. This includes members who have decided to retire from Congress as well as those who are running for other offices, such as the Senate or governorships.

U.S. House of Representatives have announced that they are not seeking re-election in 2024 and are retiring:

Rep. Ken Buck (Colorado)
Rep. Michael Burgess (Texas)
Rep. Kay Granger (Texas)
Rep. Bill Johnson (Ohio)
Rep. Debbie Lesko (Arizona)
Former Speaker Kevin McCarthy (California)
Rep. Patrick McHenry (North Carolina)
Rep. Victoria Spartz (Indiana)
Rep. Brad Wenstrup (Ohio)

Additionally, Rep. George Santos (New York) was expelled from the House and will not be running for re-election.

Last week, 105 RINO-Uniparty Republicans made the historic move to expel conservative Republican George Santos (R-NY) from Congress. Santos was the most conservative freshman member of Congress.

According to the NY delegation scorecard for Heritage Action for America, Santos got a 100% score.

Source: Heritage Action for America